“Back then the cars had a trap door that we could pull open with a chain to check our tire wear.” – Tim Flock

Yesterday was a happy accident.

I was coming home from teaching my Sunday morning voice lesson, when the bus driver came to a rather abrupt stop. It seems driver was given the day’s detour map – that is every driver but him. As I sat there in the idling bus, stuck  in an incredibly narrow street with a very angry bus driver yelling at dispatch and very angry passengers yelling at the driver, I decided no air conditioning in the world was worth that amount of negativity. So I asked to get off the bus.

Who knew that the detour was the Henderson Super Run Car Show? I had a blast walking on Water Street in Downtown Henderson, looking at all the cars and exploring the random vendor booth. It reminded my a little of Hot August Nights. There were all these great cars, some in really amazing condition. I had fun doing something out of the ordinary.

The City of Henderson has special events throughout the year. Check out their events page for more information.

This weekend, I was once again reminded that Vegas isn’t just The Strip. Apparently we have car shows too.

 

Leave a Reply

