“You know, we’re more than just a club. We’re friends. Best friends. Nothing could ever change that.” – The Baby-Sitters Club

I still have my entire collection.

I have always had a fondness for reading. I remember reading the Little Golden Books, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs (the book is way better than the movie), and the Berenstain Bears, yet it wasn’t until that Christmas that I received my first Baby-Sitters Club book that I became so enthralled.

These books were my gateway into a whole new world. For 150 or so pages, I could enter someone else’s imagination. I would pick up a book and instantly hang out with my friends Kristy, Claudia, Mary Anne, Stacey, and Dawn.  I loved watching their relationships develop. By the time the series was over, I felt like they were my best friends because I grew up with them.

Little did I know they would have such an influence on what I read today. If you look at my Amazon wish list you will see many of the books are parts of a series. I can’t help it, one book to get to know the characters just isn’t enough. Give me a book series like In Death, Women’s Murder Club, Black Dagger Brotherhood, and  Anita Blake (to name a few) and I am in heaven. I want to fall in love with the characters. I want to know what happens after the happily ever after because let’s face it – real life doesn’t end we say “I do.”

Leave a Reply

