“It IS about you, however, it’s not just about you.” – Jon Gordon

On October 27th, I was installed as the 2011 President of the Las Vegas Chapter, Women’s Council of REALTORS®. During which, my office surprised me with a beautiful journal. Members of my office wrote notes of encouragement on random pages throughout the book. Recently, I took a trip to New Orleans. While I was walking out the door something made me grab the journal and stick it in my backpack. Halfway through my flight, I grabbed the journal to write down a quote and saw the first note. I spent the next ten minutes finding others and reading what my colleagues had written. I was so incredibly touched and am grateful to work in such an encouraging and loving environment.

Then, in the back of the journal, was the speech that my team leader, Julie Brown, had given when she presented the gift to me.

“Jessica, the world is in dire need of great leaders!

You are not an accident.

You are here for a reason.

You have a destiny, a purpose with many gifts and talents.

You do things that only you can do in the way you do them.

You will leave your mark on this group.

So it is about you!

AND…it’s about MORE than yoo. It’s about you being chosen as a LEADER in this time, with this group, and at this hour.

To love, to lead…to mentor.

To learn, serve, create, build, and dream. To build this group into a stronger, more educated, and more dedicated group of leaders.

You have an opportunity to lead as a collaborating team for change.

So then, it’s about living for more than you.

For a bigger purpose and a greater cause.

You are an expression of the Creator.

You are a note in His symphony.

It’s about you playing your part to the best of your ability, lifting others up, leading others onward with intention, purpose, and the drive that only you have.”

These words don’t just apply to me, they fit anyone who is embarking on a new leadership opportunity. We were chosen for a reason, we have a purpose and a gift to bring to our organizations. Congratulations to all my fellow Local Chapter Presidents. 2011 is going to be a great year.

2 responses to ““It IS about you, however, it’s not just about you.” – Jon Gordon

Leave a Reply

