“Today I become a grown up.” – Grey’s Anatomy

I was watching Grey’s Anatomy the other night and this fantastic graduation speech was read and it wasn’t until recently that this speech began to resonate.

“Today’s the day my life begins. Today I become a citizen of the world. Today I become a grown up. Today I become accountable to someone other than myself and my parents. Accountable for more than my grades. Today, I become accountable to the world. To the future. To all the possibilities that life has to offer. Starting today, my job is to show up wide eyed and willing and ready. For what, I don’t know. For anything. For everything. To take on life. To take on love. To take on the responsibility and possibility. Today, my friends, our lives begin. And, I for one can’t wait.”

As we enter into the final month of the year and the focus shifts to goal setting, planning, and New Year’s resolutions, I can’t help but think. What would the year be like if every morning I said to myself, “my job is to show up wide eyed and willing and ready”?  Wide eyed: to stay in childlike wonder, to be positive. Willing: eager to help, to be of service, to say yes. Ready: open to opportunity. These twelve ordinary words when put together create one whammy of a daily affirmation. Imagine what could be accomplished?

What if I lived by the thought that it was my job “To take on life. To take on love. To take on the responsibility and possibility.”? I find I have closed myself off from all four of these things for so long thinking that I don’t have time or energy for any of them. The reality is quite the opposite. Taking on life, love, responsibility, and possibility fuels my goals and dreams. It makes them stronger and, in a way, easier to accomplish.

I started shifting my thinking since my birthday when I had the realization that this is the last year of my twenties. A friend recently told me of a  challenge where they created a list of the 30 things to do before 30 and then did everything to cross every item off said list. So instead of a New Year’s resolution, I’ve created my list. Now I get to make it happen.

Leave a Reply

