“Run like hell and get the agony over with.” ~ Clarence DeMar

Last year one of my friends ran the Disneyland half marathon and then in December many more ran the Las Vegas half marathon. Personally, I thought they were crazy, a half marathon is 13.1 miles. That’s just insane, that’s running for 3 hours. Then I went through Leadership Breakthrough 2 at Rapport Leadership International and came out with the thought of  I could do that.

To give you a reference point, before this year I hated to run. I had never actually run a full mile without stopping and now I was going to run 13.1 of them. Holy Crap!

Now it’s 8 months later and while my date goal has changed from September to December, the end result is still the same. Added to that, I have learned a few things about myself.

  • I can run. Not only have I run a mile without stopping, I have run 7 of them. In a row.
  • Running is a great time to think. I have generated so many new ideas during my runs.
  • Running is cathartic. Running helps to clear my head.
  • Running can be fun.

It hasn’t been an easy 8 months. There have been ups and downs, but I know it will be worth it when I finally finished all 13.1 of those miles.

Leave a Reply

